Online Workshop

“Solar Physics with a Next Generation Solar Radio Facility”

Wednesday-Friday, December 1-3, 2021

The need for a high-performance solar radio telescope in the United States has been recognized for many years. The FASR (Frequency Agile Solar Radiotelescope) concept represents such a telescope, one that provides high-resolution imaging over a broad range of frequencies, sufficient to probe the solar atmosphere from the mid-chromosphere to the mid-corona, with high time and spectral resolution. EOVSA implemented many FASR design elements and, as such, has served as a valuable pathfinder instrument, spectacularly validating both the fundamental concept of time-resolved broadband imaging spectroscopy and the science it enables. In the meantime, science and technology have advanced and the need for full implementation of the FASR concept has only grown more important.

In anticipation of upcoming funding opportunities, this workshop is being convened to highlight progress in solar physics over the past decade and to take stock of the unique contributions enabled by the current suite of new radio instruments, to refine the science goals and requirements of a next-generation solar radio facility. The workshop will provide a forum to discuss relevant new and emerging technologies that will enable this new science. We invite colleagues with an interest in solar physics and radio technology to help explore the frontiers of science and technology that will guide updates and refinements to the FASR concept.


The FASR 2021 Workshop will be free, 100% online, and centered on US time zones.

There is no registration deadline, but if you want to contribute, please fill out the registration form by November 1st.

(If you are currently undecided about a contribution, you may register now, and re-register later with a contribution (but remember the November 1st cutoff.))





The FASR 2021 workshop will feature a series of invited plenary presentations (no breakout sessions), which are intended to seed open discussions on topics relevant to FASR science and technology. If you also wish to contribute to these open discussions, please provide a title and a short description of your proposed presentation or topic at the time of your registration. The SOC will review all proposals and selectively include them in the program in the limited time slots available for this purpose. If the SOC is unable to provide a time for an extended discussion of your contribution there will also be a poster session.

  • Introduction and overview
  • Science (including new science enabled by FASR)
    • Flare science, magnetic reconnection, particle acceleration and transport
    • Quiet sun, active region (structure and dynamics) science
    • Coronal magnetic field measurements: the connection between diagnostics derived from radio and other wavelengths
    • Space Weather science and applications
    • Sun-as-a-star, star-planet connection, nighttime, and other non-solar science
    • Multi-messenger and multi-wavelength synergies (solar and non-solar)
  • Technology (science-driven specifications)
    • Antennas and feeds
    • Signal distribution and data transport
    • Correlators
    • Site infrastructure, monitoring, and control
    • Imaging and pipeline processing
  • Other issues


Adam IsaacsonSouth African Radio Astronomy Observatory (SARAO)
Adriana ValioCenter for Radio Astronomy and Astrophysics Mackenzie (CRAAM)
Anshu KumariUniversity of Helsinki
Antony SoosaleonMahatma Gandhi University
Artem KovalAstronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic
Boris RyabovVentspils International Radio Astronomy Centre
Brian DennisNASA GSFC
C. Guillermo Giménez de CastroCRAAM
Clara Paola Camargo Díaz Universidad Tecnológica de Bolívar 
Costas AlissandrakisUniversity of Ioannina
Dale GaryNew Jersey Institute of Technology
Daniela Montes DoriaUniversity of Antioquia
Diana MorosanUniversity of Helsinki
Divyadarshan D. Purohit GURUDEV OBSERVATORY
Divya OberoiNational Centre for Radio Astrophysics, TIFR, India
Ernesto ZurbriggenCentro de Rádio Astronomia e Astrofı́sica Mackenzie, São Paulo, Brazil
Fernando LopezCONICET/Argentina
Francesco AzzolliniUniversity of Glasgow
Francesco LongoUniversity of Trieste and INFN, Trieste
German CristianiInstituto de Astronomia y Fisca del Espacio (IAFE – Argentina)
Hamish ReidUniversity College London
Hien voVietnamese german university 
Ilya ChertokIZMIRAN, Troitsk, Moscow< Russia
Indrajit BarveIndian Institute of Astrophysics
Ivey DavisCaltech 
Janet KozyraNASA
Jason KooiU.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Jie ZhangGeorge Mason University
John KiriazesNASA Kennedy Space Center
Jonhatan BernalObservatorio Astrónomico Nacional de Colombia 
Jorge Valleunmsm
Juan Sebastian Hincapie TarquinoUniversidad Nacional de Colombia, Observatorio Astronómico Nacional
Julia ShamsutdinovaISTP SB RAS
Kamen KozarevInstitute of Astronomy and National Astronomical Observatory, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Karla Lopez AraujoSan Luis Gonzaga National Universty 
Kevin ArizaUniversidad Distrital Fransisco Jose de Caldas
Kevin ReardonNational Solar Observatory
Kiyoto ShibasakiSolar Physics Research Inc.
Laura HayesEuropean Space Agency
Maria MadjarskaMax-Planck Institute for Solar System Research
Mayuri S RaoRaman Research Institute
Momchil MolnarCU Boulder/NSO
Mugundhan VijayaraghavanUniversity of KwaZulu Natal
Nataliia MeshalkinaInstitute of Solar-Terrestrial Physics
Octavian BlagoiAstronomical Institute of Romanian Academy
Olga GolubchinaSt.Petersburg Branch of Special Astrophysical Observatory, St.Petersburg, Russia
Olga PintadoCentro d Tecnología Disruptiva – Universidad de San Pablo Tucumán
Priyank SrivastavaUniversity of Lucknow
Robertus erdelyiSP2RC, Univ of Sheffield (UK)
Rositsa MitevaInstitute of Astronomy with NAO – BAS
Samuel SchonfeldBoston College Institute for Scientific Research
Sayuf ShaikIndian Institute of Astrophysics
Sijie YuNJIT
Sneha PanditRosseland Centre for Solar Physics, University of Oslo
Sofía Guevara MontoyaUniversidad Nacional de Colombia
Sophie MussetESA/ESTEC
Stephanie CelyUniversidad Nacional de Colombia
Stephen kaepplerClemson university
Stephen WhiteAFRL
Stuart D. BaleUC Berkeley
Tardelli StekelIFSP
Victor MelnikovPulkovo Observatory of RAS
Whitham D. ReeveReeve Engineers
YogeshPhysical Research Laboratory
Zubair ShaikhIndian Institute of Geomagnetism, Navi-Mumbai, India
Last update: October 25, 2021, 11am PDT [Milo]